Detroit JazzStage Welcomes the New Year with Phil Ogilvie’s Rhythm Kings, Part 1

Phil Ogilvie's Rhythm KingsThis month we are celebrating the New Year with Phil Ogilvie’s Rhythm Kings, P.O.R.K. for short, recorded live at the Firefly Club in Ann Arbor MI. There we also interviewed band members Jim Dapogny, Music Director, and Chris Smith, Band Manager. We had a great time doing the recording and learned much about the style of music they play. We want to mention how important the band members are to the overall success of the ensemble and that their individual and collective contributions to the band are outstanding, truly special and sincerely appreciated by Phil, Jim, Chris and all of us who truly enjoy their music. It is fun music and totally appropriate for bringing in the New Year.

Also, we’re taking a survey of our listeners, and we’d like you to participate. It will help us learn more about you – – no matter how long you’ve been a listener or how frequently you listen to this podcast. It will also help us when we approach potential sponsors. So please take a few minutes and visit our website at and click the listener survey link on the left. You can complete the survey anonymously.

So with that said, pop open a bottle of bubbly, kiss your significant other and dance the night away.

From us at JazzStage Productions to all of you, Have a Happy and Prosperous New Year.

For more information on the band and upcoming events, please go to

Songs (in order of appearance):

1. St. Louis Blues
2. Deep Creek
3. Little Lawrence
4. Charleston
5. Crazy Rhythm – Band vocal
6. Break Tune
1. Button Up Your Overcoat – Band vocal
2. Jig Walk
3. Creole Love Call – Ingrid Racine vocal
4. Sweet Jazz O’ Mine
5. Hallelujah
6. Daniel’s Blues – Tom Bogardus vocal
7. Alexander’s Ragtime Band
8. Pardon The Glove + Break Tune

Please click here for Part 2.

Band Members

Clarinet and Saxophones: Andrew Bishop, Tom Bogardus, Mike Jones
Trumpets: Paul Finkbeiner, Ingrid Racine
Trombone: Gene Bartley
Piano: Jim Dapogny
Tuba: Chris Smith
Guitar and banjo: Rod McDonald
Drums: Steve Fentriss

Opening Music – Mark Byerly’s “Marks Mood” available on the self titled CD Bop Culture
Closing Music – Mark Byerly’s “Erroenious” available on Bop Culture’s CD The E.P.
Infomation on both CD’s is available at


Comments are closed.